Four NSIC Football Squads Make NCAA Tourney

( – The NSIC will send four teams to the NCAA Super Region Four playoff as the pairings were released by the NCAA Sunday afternoon. Minnesota State (9-2) and Wayne State (9-2) will meet in the opening round in Mankato, Minnesota. Bemidji State (9-2) will host Winona State (8-3) on the other side of the seven-team bracket with the winner advancing to take on top seeded Angelo State (11-0) in round two.

It’s the second time in school history that Wayne State and Bemidji State have reached the NCAA Division II playoffs with BSU making it last year and WSC in 2008. This marks the 13th time in program history that Minnesota State has advanced to the NCAA Tournament. This will be the eighth appearance in the NCAA Division II Football Playoffs for Winona State, and first since 2017.