Masten & Moni Added To Top-100 Watch List

Kansas City, MO ( – Small College Basketball and the National Awards Committee announced the Bevo Francis Top 100 Watch List for the 2022-23 season, yesterday afternoon. Northern State University players Sam Masten & Jacksen Moni were included. The Top 100 Watch List consists of some of the top players from NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA, USCAA and NCCAA.

“Congratulations to the 100 players on the Bevo Francis Award Watch List, as this is a prestigious honor to be included on the list of only 100 players out of approximately 13,000-16,000 players at the small college levels,” stated John McCarthy. “This is an extremely challenging process for our committee, and I appreciate a great deal of information provided by our committee, and from coaches and supporters from throughout the country. Again, congratulations to the players on the Bevo Francis Watch List, and thank you to our committee.”

Masten currently leads the Wolves averaging 17.7 points, 6.8 rebounds, and 6.6 assists per game this season. He is shooting 54.1% from the floor, 37.7% from the 3-point line, and 77.2% from the foul line. In addition, the Colorado native sits top-5 in the nation in assist/turnover ratio, assists, assists per game, and triple doubles.

Moni is second on the team notching 16.2 points and 4.8 rebounds per game this season. He is shooting 47.4% from the floor, 37.6% from the 3-point line, and 75.6% from the foul line.

The Clarence “Bevo” Francis Award is presented annually to the player who has had the finest overall season within Small College Basketball. Considerations will be season statistics and individual achievements, awards, personal character and team achievements. On February 15th, the list will be reduced to the Top 50 players. One month later on March 15th, the Top 25 players will be announced. On April 1st, the finalists of this year’s award will be announced, followed by the Bevo Francis Award winner being crowned on April 3rd.

The Bevo Francis Awards Committee consists of the following coaches: Gary Stewart – Stevenson (MD), Chris Briggs – Georgetown College (KY), Bill Dreikosen – Rocky Mountain (MT), Mark Berokoff – Oklahoma City, Mike Donnelly – Florida Southern, Sam Hargraves – Olivet, Stephen Brennan – Babson, Richard Westerlund – Great Lakes Christian, Chase Tiechmann – Florida College, Aaron Siebenthall – Ottawa (KS), Tae Norwood – Humboldt State, Mark Vanderslice – USC-Aiken, Grant Leep, Seattle Pacific, Matt O’Brien – Southwestern (KS), Chris Wright – Langston (OK), Nathan Champion – LeMoyne.