NSIC Announces All-Conference & Yearly Award Winners

BURNSVILLE, MN (NorthernSun.org) –

NSIC Co-Wrestlers of the Year

Nick Baumler (197, Sr., West Union, Iowa / North Fayette Valley HS) of Upper Iowa University

– All-NSIC First Team Member

– NCAA DII Super Region V Champion at 197 pounds

– Ranked as the second seed at the NCAA Championships

– Finished season with a 29-2 season record, winning his 100th career match in his last regular season dual

– Finished career with 104 wins and was a two-time All-American, finishing third in 2019 and seventh in 2018

– Voted NSIC Preseason Wrestler of the Year for 2019-20


Kolton Eischens (174, Sr., Pierz, Minn. / Pierz-Healy HS) of St. Cloud State University

– All-NSIC First Team Member

– NCAA DII Super Region V Champion at 174 pounds

– Completed season with an 18-1 record with eight wins by fall

– Named a two-time NCAA DII All-American (2019 – 4th, 2018 – 6th)

– Is a two-time Super Region V Champion and three-time NSIC All-Conference recipient

– Finished career with a 75-12 record over three years with the Huskies


NSIC Rookie of the Year

Joseph Bianchini (141, R-Fr., Elk Grove Village, IL / Immaculate Conception Catholic Prep) of SCSU

– Lone freshman to earn All-NSIC First Team honors this season

– NCAA DII Super Region V Champion at 141 pounds

– Posted a season mark of 20-1

– Finished first at the Cobber Open, the Buena Vista Open, and the Eau Claire Open


NSIC Coach of the Year

Steve Costanzo (14th Season) of St. Cloud State University

– Led SCSU to an undefeated season at 16-0, 8-0 NSIC record

– Led the Huskies to their ninth consecutive NSIC championship

– SCSU placed first at the 2020 NCAA DII Regional championships

– Coached seven individual regional title winners and sent nine wrestlers to the NCAA championships

– Led St. Cloud State to its fourth consecutive NWCA DII National Dual championship

– St. Cloud State earned the #1 ranking in this year’s final NCAA DII poll.

– SCSU owns an NCAA DII record 64 dual match win streak dating back to a loss to Indianapolis on Jan. 14, 2017


NSIC Wrestling All-Conference teams were announced back on February 25 following the NSIC regular season schedule.

2019-20 NSIC All-Conference…


Dean Arevalo 125 Sr. MINOT Riverside, Calif.

Garrett Vos 133 R-So. SCSU Bonifacius, Minn.

Joey Bianchini 141 R-Fr. SCSU Elk Grove Village, Ill.

James Pleski 149 R-Sr. SCSU Stacy, Minn.

Jake Barzowski 157 R-Jr. SCSU Park Ridge, Ill.

Devin Fitzpatrick 165 R-Jr. SCSU Mahtomedi, Minn.

Kolton Eischens 174 Sr. SCSU Pierz, Minn.

Tyree Overton 184 R-Sr. SCSU Rock Island, Ill.

Nick Baumler 197 Sr. UIU West Union, Iowa

Triston Westerlund 285 R-Sr. UIU Albert Lea, Minn.



Hunter Pfantz 125 R-FR. SMSU State Center, Iowa

Justin Folley 133 Sr. UIU Matteson, Ill.

Hunter Burnett 141 R-Fr. AUGIE Pipestone, Minn.

Kyle Rathman 149 Jr. MSU Apple Valley, Minn.

Braydon Huber 157 R-Fr. UMary Post Falls, Id.

Nathan Baca 165 So. MINOT Brighton, Colo.

Ben Kelvington 174 Sr. AUGIE Jordan, Minn.

Marcus Placide 184 Jr. NSU Minneapolis, Minn.

Noah Ryan 197 R-So. SCSU Mantorville, Minn.

Ezayah Oropeza 285 Fr SCSU Burnsville, Minn.