NSIC Tournament Hoops Titles Go to Same Teams as Last Year

SIOUX FALLS, SD (NorthernSun.org) –


NSIC Tournament Championship

(N1) MN-Duluth 80-74

(S1) MSU-Mankato

  • The Bulldogs won their 3rd-straight NSIC Tourney Title, claiming it w/ an 80-74 win over MSU in a battle of the two top seeds. UMD held a 28-14 lead after the opening frame & held on to win despite getting out-scored in each of the next three quarters. Duluth out-shot Mankato 55-40% overall and had eight more points at the FT line despite having just three more attempts (22/27 to 14/24). The Mavs caused 10 more TO’s in the loss (21-11) & had twice the OR’s (14-7).
  • UMD – Brooke Olson 36 points; Ella Gilbertson 13p; Maesyn Thiesen 11p, 7 assists
  • MSU – Destinee Bursch 25p; Joey Batt 12p



NSIC Tournament Championship

(N3) MN-Duluth

(N2) MSU-Moorhead 79-69

  • The Dragons claimed their 2nd-straight NSIC Tourney Title in a rematch of last year’s Championship Game w/ a 79-69 win over the Bulldogs. Moorhead built a 19-point lead by the break (47-28) & cruised the rest of the way. UMD got no closer than eight points in the 2nd half. MSUM hit 12/27-3 (44%), while UMD was cold from deep (3/20). In a bracket filled w/ shorthanded teams dealing with health issues, MSUM claimed the title without starting guard Jaden Stanley-Williams. Lorenzo McGhee & Jacob Beeninga each played the full 40’. Drew Blair set the new all-time career mark at UMD for made 3ptrs in the win, breaking a tie for 1st place going into the game.
  • MSUM – Lorenzo McGhee 20p; Gavin Baumgartner 17p; Jacob Beeninga 17p; Dane Zimmer 13p, 12 rebounds, 5 blocks
  • UMD – Drew Blair 31p (2/10-3), 7r; Austin Andrews 14p