NSU MBB Player Makes Bevo Top-25 List

KC, MO (NSUWolves.com) – Northern State University senior guard, Sam Masten was among the 25 players named to the Bevo Francis Top-25 Watch List announced by Small College Basketball and the National Awards Committee this afternoon. The Top-25 Watch List consists of some of the top players from NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA, USCAA and NCCAA.
The Highlands Ranch, CO, native led Northern State averaging 18.0 points, 7.1 rebounds, and 6.1 assists per game. He shoots a team best 55.9% from the floor, as well as 40.5% from the 3-point line and 77.6% from the foul line. He scored double figures in every contest this season, recording three double-doubles and one triple double. In addition, Masten sits top-10 in the country in assist/turnover ratio, total assists, and triple-doubles. In 2022-23, Masten was a 6-time NSIC Player of the Week, D2CIDA National Player of the Week, CSC Academic All-District team member, the NSIC North Division Player of the Year, a first team All-NSIC selection, and D2CCA All-District first team honoree.
The Clarence “Bevo” Francis Award is presented annually to the player who has had the finest overall season within Small College Basketball. Considerations will be season statistics and individual achievements, awards, personal character and team achievements. This is an incredibly prestigious award, as this award will only be given to one player within Small College Basketball per season.
On April 1, the finalists of this year’s award will be announced, followed by the Bevo Francis Award winner being crowned on April 3.
The Bevo Francis Awards Committee consists of the following coaches: Gary Stewart – Stevenson (MD), Chris Briggs – Georgetown College (KY), Bill Dreikosen – Rocky Mountain (MT), Mark Berokoff – Oklahoma City, Mike Donnelly – Florida Southern, Sam Hargraves – Olivet, Stephen Brennan – Babson, Richard Westerlund – Great Lakes Christian, Chase Teichmann – Florida College, Aaron Siebenthall – Ottawa (KS), Tae Norwood – Humboldt State, Mark Vanderslice – USC-Aiken, Grant Leep, Seattle Pacific, Matt O’Brien – Southwestern (KS), Chris Wright – Langston (OK), Nathan Champion – LeMoyne.