Regional Volleyball Teams Recognized by USMC/AVCA

( – The United State Marine Corps (USMC) and the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) have announced that 1,275 collegiate and high school teams have earned the USMC/AVCA Team Academic Award for the 2020-2021 season. The NSIC had 13 of its 16 institutions earn the Team Academic Award, including four on the Team Academic Award Honor Roll. In total, 33 DII schools saw their squads make the Team Academic Award Honor Roll.

The award, initiated in the 1992-93 academic year, honors volleyball teams that maintain a year-long grade-point average of 3.30 on a 4.0 scale or 4.10 on a 5.0 scale.

Additionally, the top 20% of team GPAs from each division are designated as Team Academic Honor Roll schools, representing the highest scholarly achievement in our sport.

USMC/AVCA Team Academic Award recipients from NSIC…

Augustana University – Team Academic Honor Roll

Concordia University-St. Paul – 18-year win streak

University of Mary

University of Minnesota Crookston

University of Minnesota Duluth

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Northern State University – Team Academic Honor Roll (The Wolves have been honored on the list by the AVCA 17 times and are currently on their eighth-straight recognition)

University of Sioux Falls

Southwest Minnesota State University

St Cloud State University

Upper Iowa University – Team Academic Honor Roll

Wayne State College – Team Academic Honor Roll, 19-year win streak

Winona State University – 15-year win streak

On the NAIA side of things, Bellevue was the lone team from the North Star Athletic Association to make the Honor Roll list, while the GPAC’s Dakota Wesleyan University, Dordt University, and Midland University all made the cut. Fifteen NAIA teams were named to the honor roll. Also of note, NDSU made the Honor Roll list in DI.

As for the USMC/AVCA Team Academic Award, other regional teams to receive that honor include Presentation College, Northwestern High School (17-year win streak), SDSU, USD, UND, SDSMT, Morningside University, Briar Cliff University, and Waldorf University.