Six Saints Named First or Second Team on NSAA Football All-Conference Awards List

MADISON, SD ( – The 2022 North Star Athletic Association (NSAA) Football All-Conference teams were announced Monday afternoon by the conference office.  The All-Conference teams and postseason awards were voted on by the league coaches.

Dickinson State (ND) won their eighth-straight league title with a perfect 6-0 record.  The Blue Hawks advanced to the NAIA Football Championship Series (FCS) before falling to Northwestern (IA) on November 19 in the opening round.

DiSU swept the postseason awards.  Riley Linder was voted as the Offensive Most Valuable Player, while his teammate Krew Mathern was selected as the Defensive Most Valuable Player.  Pete Stanton was named the Coach of the Year.  Russell McCarvel was selected as the Assistant Coach of the Year. 


First-Team All-Conference Offense

Position Name Class School Hometown
QB Tim Salmon Sophomore Mayville State (N.D.) New Richmond, Wis.
RB Riley Linder Senior Dickinson State (N.D.) Flaxville, Mont.
RB Justice Bice Junior Valley City State (N.D.) Bonifay, Fla.
OL Nathaniel Woodruff Junior Dickinson State (N.D.) Torrington, Wyo.
OL Sammy Trejo Junior Valley City State (N.D.) El Paso, Texas
OL Brandon Bennick Junior Dickinson State 9N.D.) Torrington, Wyo.
OL Gunnar Farstveet Senior Dickinson State (N.D.) Beach, N.D.
OL Mose Timoteo Senior Dakota State (S.D.) Pearl City, Hawaii
TE Chance Danner Sophomore Mayville State (N.D.) Thompson, N.D.
WR Noah Sickler Junior Dickinson State (N.D.) Dickinson, N.D.
WR Javeion Davison Sophomore Mayville State 9N.D.) Las Vegas, Nev.
WR Sam Huntley Senior Waldorf (Iowa) Dania, Fla.

First-Team All-Conference Defense

Position Name Class School Hometown
DL Krew Mathern Senior Dickinson State (N.D.) Dickinson, N.D.
DL Riley Gerhardt Sophomore Valley City State (N.D.) Valley City, N.D.
DL Cody Brown Sophomore Dakota State (S.D.) Madison, S.D.
DL JaQuawhann Booth Sophomore Dickinson State (N.D.) Billings, Mont.
LB Keaton Meschke Sophomore Dickinson State (N.D.) Mandan, N.D.
LB Braxton Bates Sophomore Presentation (S.D.) Taylorsville, Utah
LB Major Niccum Junior Iowa Wesleyan Sacramento, Calif.
LB Jeremiah ‘JJ’ Beck Sophomore Dakota State (S.D.) Gregory, S.D.
DB Jayden Heartwell Sophomore Dickinson State (N.D.) Anchorage, Alaska
DB Dawson McGlothlin Senior Dickinson State (N.D.) Sidney, Mont.
DB Joseph Pace Sophomore Iowa Wesleyan Long Beach, Calif.
DB Javonte Oliphant Senior Dickinson State (N.D.) Trinity, Texas

First-Team All-Conference Special Teams

Position Name Class School Hometown
K Wade James Sophomore Dickinson State (N.D.) Bismarck, N.D.
P Noah Karwacki Sophomore Dakota State (S.D.) Thornton, Colo.
Specialist Isaiah Kludt Senior Dickinson State (N.D.) Hettinger, N.D.

Second-Team All-Conference Offense

Position Name Class School Hometown
QB Aaron White Senior Dickinson State (N.D.) Shelby, Mont.
RB Askia Moses Senior Iowa Wesleyan Griffin, Ga.
RB Tyce Ortman Sophomore Dakota State (S.D.) Canistota, S.D.
OL Logan Miller Junior Waldorf (Iowa) Madison Lake, Minn.
OL Troy Dietz Sophomore Valley City State (N.D.) Gwinner, N.D.
OL Kade Kloster-Hodak Senior Waldorf (Iowa) Mason City, Iowa
OL William Rollins Senior Presentation (S.D.) Lakewood, Colo.
OL Zachary Throne Senior Waldorf (Iowa) Scarville, Iowa
TE Galen Brantley III Sophomore Dickinson State (N.D.) Soldotna, Alaska
WR Conor McCarvel Senior Dickinson State (N.D.) Helena, Mont.
WR Tyler Ball Junior Iowa Wesleyan St. Louis, Mo.
WR Reece Smith Senior Mayville State (N.D.) Moorpark, Calif.

Second-Team All-Conference Defense

Position Name Class School Hometown
DL Sam Motzkus Senior Presentation (S.D.) Littleton, Colo.
DL Deqwunn McCobb Senior Waldorf (Iowa) Bradenton, Fla.
DL Devonte Murphy Sophomore Dakota State (S.D.) Sioux Falls, S.D.
DL Matt Anderson Sophomore Dickinson State (N.D.) Jamestown, N.D.
LB Treden Davis-Reed Sophomore Presentation (S.D.) Spokane, Wash.
LB Jahidi West Junior Valley City State (N.D.) Stockton, Calif.
LB Dustin Kasowski Senior Valley City State (N.D.) Ayr, N.D.
LB Max Sonne Senior Dakota State (S.D.) Watertown, S.D.
DB MaCoy Yeakel Senior Waldorf (Iowa) Kanawha, Iowa
DB Tyler Dennis Senior Waldorf (Iowa) Fernley, Nev.
DB Jay Skogerboe Sophomore Dakota State (S.D.) New Prague, Minn.
DB Billy Nelson Junior Presentation (S.D.) Portland, Ore.


Second-Team All-Conference Special Teams

Position Name Class School Hometown
K Noah Karwacki Sophomore Dakota State (S.D.) Thornton, Colo.
P Luiz Ferreira Senior Presentation (S.D.) Sao Paulo, Brazil
Specialist Tyler Ball Junior Iowa Wesleyan St. Louis, Mo.

NSAA Football Postseason Awards

NSAA Football Offensive Most Valuable Player:  Riley Linder – Dickinson State (N.D.)
NSAA Football Defensive Most Valuable Player:  Krew Mathern – Dickinson State (N.D.)
NSAA Football Coach-of-the-Year:  Pete Stanton – Dickinson State (N.D.)
NSAA Football Assistant Coach-of-the-Year:  Russell McCarvel – Dickinson State (N.D.)

2022 NSAA Football All-Conference Honorable Mention

Dakota State (S.D.)
Joshua Shaffer – offensive lineman
Gustavo Bonilla – linebacker
Travis Rebstock – tight end
Cooper McDermott – wide receiver

Dickinson State (N.D.)
Jeremani Brown – defensive back
Evan Henke – defensive lineman
Alec Lovegren – running back
Nathaniel Jilek – linebacker

Iowa Wesleyan
Jakim Brock – defensive back
Jeremiah Pauling – linebacker
Moses Eason – defensive lineman
Asaivien McWilliams – wide receiver

Mayville State (N.D.)
Devon Woods – defensive lineman
Bailey Mullenberg – defensive lineman
Will Flemons – defensive back
Zach Ceasar – offensive lineman

Presentation (S.D.)
Kevin Wright – wide receiver
Nicholas Delgado – offensive lineman
Benjamin Fosi – defensive lineman
Isiah Lawson – defensive back

Valley City State (N.D.)
Ashton Raquino – linebacker
Francisco ‘Paco’ Baltazar – defensive back
Joseph Salas – offensive lineman
Taylor Simmons – running back

Waldorf (Iowa)
Jordan Cooper – quarterback
Malik Adams – wide receiver
Nico Morasco – linebacker
Kasen Handal – safety

2022 North Star Athletic Association Football Champions of Character recipients

Dakota State (S.D.):  Travis Rebstock
Dickinson State (N.D.):  Tristen Peterson
Iowa Wesleyan:  Jaheem Hampton
Mayville State (N.D.):  Cole Dukart
Presentation (S.D.):  Sam Motzkus
Valley City State (N.D.):  Dustin Kasowski
Waldorf (Iowa):  Deqwunn McCobb