2021 Governor’s Awards Winners

PIERRE, S.D.(KCCR)- The South Dakota Department of Human Services honored South Dakotan businesses and residents who have made significant contributions toward the employment of individuals with disabilities.  Cabinet Secretary Shawine Rechtenbaugh says the 2021 Governor’s Awards brought a record number of nominations.

South Dakota is a leader in the nation for encouraging the employment of those with disabilities,

Governor Kristi Noem was not present for the seven award presentations having gone to Rapid City to address the Auburn fire, but returned to Pierre in time to recognize the recipients.

Awards are presented at the State Capitol Rotunda for Outstanding Citizen and Employee with a Disability, three categories for Outstanding Employer, Outstanding Transition Services and a Distinguished Service award.

Governor’s Awards were presented to the following recipients:

Outstanding Individual with a Disability: Mark Sternhagen, Brookings

Outstanding Employee with a Disability: Eric Larson, Menno

Outstanding Private Employer (small): TMA of Mitchell

Outstanding Private Employer (large): MasterBrand Cabinets/Starmark Cabinetry, Sioux Falls

Outstanding Employer (other): Brown County Register of Deeds, Aberdeen

Outstanding Transition Services: Cindy Bierman, Mitchell

Distinguished Service: Vicki Nelson, Sioux Falls

Click on the link below for more information, including previous Governor’s Awards winners: https://dhs.sd.gov/rehabservices/govawards.aspx.

The Governor’s Awards ceremony is co-sponsored by the South Dakota Board of Vocational Rehabilitation, Board of Service to the Blind and Visually Impaired, the Statewide Independent Living Council, and DHS.