Affairs Committee passes resolution on legislative terms

PIERRE, S.D. (KJJQ) – The House State Affairs Committee passes a resolution to take an increase in legislative terms to the voters of South Dakota.

The measure would increase terms from the current two years to four years. The bill was also amended to increase legislative term limits from eight years to 12-years.

Representative Mark Willadson of Sioux Falls presented the bill.

Representative David Anderson of Hudson made the motion to amend the bill to include 12-year term limits.

He says the people can still vote someone out.

Committee Chair and Majority Leader Lee Qualm also spoke in favor of the idea.

No one testified against the resolution.

The measure passed 11-2 and now goes to the House floor.