Area candidates react to the election results on Tuesday night

ABERDEEN, S.D.(HubCityRadio)-  South Dakota held elections across the state Tuesday night.  Here are some reaction from candidates in the area.

Drew Dennert received the most votes in the Brown County Commission race.  Dennert was pleased with the results.

Amendment C was defeated Tuesday night.  Dennert was surprised by the margin that it was defeated.

Commissioner Mike Wiese finished 2nd which was good enough to advance to the November elections.  Wiese was not surprised by what the voters did.

Representative Carl Perry received the most votes in the District 3 House race.  Perry was humbled by the results.

Senator Al Novstrup defeated Rachel Dix to return to Pierre next year as District 3 Senator.  Novstrup talks about the key to his success.

Senator Michael Rohl won his primary in District 1 Senate race over Joe Donnell with 70% of the vote.  Rohl felt the key was being recognized by the entire district & not just in Brown County.

Brandei Schaefbauer ended up finishing second behind Representative Perry. Schaefbauer credited getting her candidacy exposure a key to her success.

Amendment C was defeated on a 67-33 vote which surprised Schaefbauer.

Bryan Breitling will serve a second term as the state senator for District 23. He received 3019 votes to defeat current state House Speaker Spencer Gosch who got 2552 votes.

Breitling told Dakota Radio Group he covered a lot of ground while campaigning.

Breitling says District 23 is, for the most part, a very rural district.

More reactions from other candidates go to