Area communities have elections on Tuesday

ABERDEEN, S.D.(Aberdeen American News)- Elections for city council, school board and mayor are set for Tuesday in several local communities.

In all cases, voting is from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. The following information was collected from public notices listing details for these elections.


Bowdle has a contested race in Ward 2 for a one-year position on the city council. Candidates are Ryan Schlechter and Margaret Bobby. Voting is at the community room in the Bowdle Healthcare Center, 8001 W. Fifth St.


Three people are running for two three-year seats on the Doland School Board. Candidates are Jeremy Moes, Paul Waldner and Sarah Lambert. Voting is at the Doland School, 405 N. Humphrey.


Three people are running for two available seats on the Eureka School Board. Candidates are Carie Kappes, Tanner Eggert and Julie Hinton. Voting is at the Eureka School Gym, 805 10th St.. Both positions are for three years.


Two people are running for a three-year position as mayor. Candidates are Scott Hanlon and Aaron Grant. Voting is at the Groton Community Center, 109 N. Third St.


Two people are running for a two-year alderman’s position on the Hecla town board representing Ward 1. Candidates are Marilyn Frohling and Shelley Ruuenz. Voting is at the Hecla Community Center, 206 Main St.


Two people are running for one four-year seat on the Redfield City Council to represent Ward 2. Candidates are Martia Siebrecht and Brent Derscheid. Voting is at the Armory, 309 W. Third St.


Two people are running for a one-year position as mayor of Selby. Candidates are Jim Kihne and William Keeler. Voting is at the Selby Opera House, 3409 Main St.


Three people are running for one three-year trustee position on the Summit town board. Candidates are Kathleen Quale, Raymond Hadzis and Brittany Neuhard. Voting is at the Summit Fire Hall, 101 E. Sherman Ave.