Bumann named Highway Patrol Trooper of the Year

PIERRE, S.D. (Press Release) – South Dakota Highway Patrol Trooper Patrick Bumann, who colleagues praise for his hard work and dedication, has been named the 2018 South Dakota Highway Patrol Trooper of the Year.

Trooper Bumann, who is a member of the Sioux Falls squad, was honored during a Wednesday awards luncheon in Sioux Falls. The award, which is sponsored by AAA South Dakota, is presented to a trooper for their continued demonstration of exceptional service to the agency, citizens and communities.

“Trooper Bumann has performed at a high level since he joined the Highway Patrol in 2014,” said Maj. Rick Miller of the Highway Patrol. “He is always willing to take on new challenges and responsibilities.”

A Sioux Falls native and graduate of Sioux Falls Roosevelt High School, Bumann has worked in the areas of crash investigation, drug recognition and technology. He also has helped train new Highway Patrol recruits as a field training officer and is involved in the South Dakota Special Olympics.

The nomination received for Trooper Bumann stated: “It is not just the extra activities that Trooper Bumann does that make him worthy of this award, It is how he does the job each day, every year. He consistently meets and exceeds the expectations set by forth by the agency and himself every year.”

Those who supported Trooper Bumann’s nomination also praised his willingness to help others. Capt. Jason Husby, who leads the Sioux Falls Highway Patrol Office, called Trooper Bumann a positive influence.

“I feel fortunate every day to have such a talented and hard-working group of troopers, sergeants, lieutenants and civilian staff,” Capt. Husby wrote.  “When I look at the people who work here, it makes me want to work harder to provide the best work environment I can for them. Trooper Bumann is one of the troopers that pushes me the hardest.”

This is the sixth year that AAA South Dakota has sponsored the Trooper of the Year Award. Marilyn Buskohl, manager of Public and Government Affairs at AAA South Dakota, says the organization is honored to be part of the award.

“Every year, I am reminded how fortunate we are in South Dakota to have so many outstanding law enforcement officers working for us every day,” Buskohl said. “We are honored by their call to duty and this award is a way to recognize those who protect and serve us.”

Other finalists for this year’s award were Sgt. Ryan Lantz of the Chamberlain Squad and Trooper Jeremy Biegert of the Northern Plains Squad.

Past winners of the award are Sergeants Rob Mayer, Josh Olson, Todd Albertson, and Troopers Cody Jansen and Jerry Kastein.

The Highway Patrol is part of the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.