Candidate forums Sept. 14-16

ABERDEEN, S.D. ( – The Aberdeen Area Chamber of Commerce and the League of Women Voters of Aberdeen Area, is hosting candidate forums for the upcoming fall elections.

There will be four forums, Sept. 14-16, all via Zoom. Gail Ochs, Chamber President, provides the details.

District 1 State House candidates are Steven McCleerey (D-I), Jennifer Healy Keintz (D), and Tamara St. John (R-I). District 1 State Senate candidates are Susan Wismer (D-I) and Michael Rohl (R). District 3 State House candidates are Leslie McLaughlin (D), Justin Roemmick (D), Drew Dennert (R-I), and Carl Perry (R-I). Brown County Commission candidates are Duane Sutton (R-I), Rachael Kippley (R-I) and Michael Nehls (D).

Ochs talked about the schedule. She said the forums will be available online for those who cannot watch them live.

All races are part of the general election Tuesday, Nov. 3. Absentee voting begins, Friday, Sept. 18.

The forums will be moderated and candidates will answer questions submitted online.

For links to the zoom forums go to