Central High School announces Hall of Fame inductees

ABERDEEN, S.D. (aberdeennews.com) – The Central High School Hall of Fame inductees for 2020 include the 1961 State A champion boys basketball team.

Ten inductees into the hall of fame were announced recently by the Aberdeen Public School Foundation.

The ’61 basketball team finished the regular season with an 8-6 record, but blazed through the postseason with a seven-game winning streak to earn the title. Team members were Jerry Larson, Jerry Ryan, Roger Smith, John Mertz, Bob Rylance, Tom Malchow, Knute Lee, Dennis Schumacher, Jerry Hauck, Bob Lehr, Jim Olson and Ron Klingman. The assistant student manager was Bill O’Keefe, the coach was Lyle “Bud” Belk and the student manager was George Godfrey.

Other inductees include: Kellie (Heier) Calhoun, Bill Gayton, Wayne A. Hansen, Ed Schaefle, Loel W. Schrader, Stuart D. Bale, Richard E. Boettcher, Brian R. Hoke, and Glenna Fouberg.

(for more on this story visit www.aberdeennews.com)