Christiansen elected Midwest Region Chair Elect for American Counseling Association

ABERDEEN, S.D. (Press Release) – Rebecca Christiansen, LPC-MH, LPC, NCC, Director of Counseling and Student Health Services at Presentation College, has been elected as the Midwest Region Chair Elect for the American Counseling Association for the 2020 year. 

The American Counseling Association is a not-for-profit, professional and educational organization that is dedicated to the growth and enhancement of the counseling profession. Founded in 1952, ACA is the world’s largest association exclusively representing professional counselors in various practice settings, from both the United States and around the world.

This is a three year position, that will allow her the opportunity to work closely with counseling leaders from across the nation on issues ranging from interstate licensure, to Medicare reimbursement, to continued professional growth and development for individuals and the counseling profession.

When asked about the position Christiansen replied, “I am so excited for this opportunity to collaborate with other counseling professionals from across the country. By serving in this role, I will have the opportunity to provide mentorship to new leaders as well as learn from those who have come before me. I am grateful to bring a spotlight to the counseling profession and am grateful to Presentation College for supporting me during this exciting time.”

In addition to her duties at Presentation College, Rebecca is currently serving as the Executive Director of the South Dakota Counseling Association, a state branch of ACA. Rebecca is excited to focus her energy on mentoring new leaders in the counseling field and assisting other state branches in increasing membership enrollment and engagement.

The Midwest Region of the American Counseling Association (ACA) represents professional counselors who live and practice in the following states: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.