Dawn Seiler Added To SD Sports HOF ’24 Class

SIOUX FALLS, SD (Press Release) – A world-class jockey, the Father of AAU Boxing, and a groundbreaking female coach highlight the class of 19 inductees that will be honored at a banquet in Sioux Falls in September.

Fred Ecoffey was one of the most successful jockeys in the United States over a career that lasted more than three decades. Bill Burns had a short stint in the state but was responsible for the most successful crop of boxers South Dakota ever saw.

Several outstanding athletes join them. Amy (Mickelson) Brecht had a remarkable career for a nationally ranked Brookings High School basketball team before becoming an All-Pac 10 player at Washington. Kim Tempelton led Miller High School to a state high school basketball title, then moved on to a sensational career at Black Hills State University. Scott Morgan played for the legendary Gary Munsen in Mitchell and was a three-time NAIA All-American at Dakota Wesleyan University. Sally Plihal was among the first South Dakota female athletes to excel on the national stage in track & field. Jeff Tiefenthaler was a four-sport athlete at Armour High School, then became an All-American in track & field and football at South Dakota State University. Mellissa (Olson) Guebert became one of Augustana University’s all-time leading basketball scorers. Kelvin Torve was one of the best who ever played baseball for Rapid City Post 22, then went on to a pro career.

Several coaches will be inducted. Chad Lavin had a great career coaching basketball at the University of South Dakota and Wyoming University. Jim Heinitz is the all-time winningest football coach at Augustana. Don Barnes established a tennis dynasty at O’Gorman High School in Sioux Falls. Before it was broken this year, Dawn Seiler was the all-time winningest high school girls’ basketball coach in state history.

The South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame also honors those who contributed in other ways. George Kiner has been one of the state’s best chroniclers of sports history. Tim Smith has been a standout sportscaster in Mitchell for over 40 years. Mark Meile had a very successful coaching career before becoming the Athletic Coordinator for the Sioux Falls Public Schools.

In addition, three people who have passed away will be inducted. Wayne “Hawkeye” Haensel had a great career as an athlete and coach. Milo Wepking was a legendary official for numerous sports. Rudy Soderquist was an outstanding basketball player and coach.

The Induction Banquet at the Sioux Falls Convention Center is on Sunday, September 22, 2024. Tickets will go on sale later in the summer. For more information on the Hall of Fame or the inductees, contact Executive Director Jim Dorman at 605-940-1262, Mike Henriksen at 605-595-8487, or John Papendick at 605-290-9677.