DPS announces August sobriety checkpoints

PIERRE, S.D.(Press Release) – Ten sobriety checkpoints in eight counties are planned throughout South Dakota during August.

The monthly checkpoints, held at various times and locations, are designed to discourage people from drinking and then driving. The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

August checkpoints are scheduled for the counties of: Beadle, Brown, Codington, Davison, Lake, Lincoln, Minnehaha and Yankton.

Officials remind drivers not to drink and drive regardless of whether there is a checkpoint planned in their county. People who have been drinking are urged to designate a sober driver or take an alternate form of commercial or public transportation.

Both the Office of Highway Safety and the Highway Patrol are part of the Department of Public Safety.