DPS releases list of November Sobriety Checkpoints

PIERRE, S.D.(Press Release) – Sobriety checkpoints will be held in 11 counties during the month of November, according to the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.

The monthly checkpoints, 13 total in November, are designed to encourage people to not drink and drive. The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

November checkpoints are scheduled for the counties of: Bennett, Brown, Charles Mix, Codington, Jackson, Jerauld, Lawrence, Meade, Minnehaha, Pennington, and Roberts.

Officials remind drivers not to drink and drive regardless of whether there is a checkpoint planned in their county. People who have been drinking are urged to designate a sober driver or take an alternate form of commercial or public transportation.

Both the Office of Highway Safety and the Highway Patrol are agencies of the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.