FEMA working with residents of South Dakota communities

WASHINGTON, D.C. (WNAX) – President Trump has approved a federal disaster declaration for South Dakota.

That gets the wheels of the Federal Emergency Management Agency turning again.

Residents of Bennett, Bon Homme, Charles Mix, Dewey, Hutchinson, Jackson, Mellette, Minnehaha, Oglala Lakota, Todd, Yankton and Ziebach Counties are eligible for individual assistance.

Brian Hvinden with FEMA says those individuals with damage should contact them again.

Hvinden says the inspections will determine what type of help is needed.


Hvinden says they can provide some financial assistance.


Hvinden says people should call 800-621-3362, or go online to www.disasterassistance.gov to register.

He says FEMA teams will also be in the 58 counties that are eligible for public assistance.