Five Avera hospitals Named 5-Star facilities

ABERDEEN, S.D.(Press Release)- Five Avera hospitals have been named 5-star facilities by the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). Star ratings enable consumers to more quickly and easily assess the patient experience and quality of care information that is provided on the Care Compare website.

The sites earning the highest (5-star) rating include:

  • Avera Heart Hospital, Sioux Falls, SD
  • Avera Marshall Regional Medical Center, Marshall, MN
  • Avera Sacred Heart Hospital, Yankton, SD
  • Avera St. Luke’s Hospital, Aberdeen, SD
  • Lakes Regional Healthcare (an Avera affiliate), Spirit Lake, IA

“Our health care workers are dedicated to providing high quality, compassionate care to every patient at every encounter,” said Dan Bjerknes, Regional President and CEO. “Earning the highest possible star rating reflects that commitment. It’s an honor to be recognized for the efforts our care teams strive for every day.”

CMS updated data on Care Compare, including the overall hospital quality star rating, on July 26, 2023. This recent data refresh included 4,000 hospitals. The Care Compare overall hospital rating system summarizes a variety of quality measures into a single star rating, making it easier for consumers to compare hospitals. The overall star rating summarizes quality information, including mortality, safety of care, readmissions, patient experience, and timely and effective care. The five top performing Avera sites consistently exceeded national scores.

Additional information is available at