Former Northwestern student elected FFA President

MELLETTE, S.D. (WNAX) – SDSU Math major Samantha Olson of the Northwestern Area FFA chapter (in Mellette) was elected South Dakota FFA President for the 2020-2021 year. Olson says due to the pandemic they had to hold their convention on-line rather than in person but she hopes to get as many FFA members involved as possible this year in the organization’s activities.

She says holding a virtual state convention helped get more families involved.

Olson says they have several events planned this summer and into the fall with many of them to be held on-line, although they’re still hoping to be able to have their state officers make chapter visits to the schools in the fall.

Serving with Olson on the 2020-2021 state officer team is Jackson McFadden of Milbank as Vice President, Hunter Eide of Gettysburg as Secretary, Elizabeth DeBoer of Deuel as Treasurer, Dirby Bawek of Doland as Reporter and Ryder Mortenson of Winner as Sentinel.