Gov. Noem Signs Executive Order for Spring Flood Relief in Edmunds and Spink Counties

PIERRE, S.D.(Press Release) – On Tuesday, Governor Kristi Noem signed Executive Order 2023-12, which declares a disaster in Edmunds and Spink Counties, allowing them to receive Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) funding to help repair damages incurred from the severe spring flooding.

On June 2nd, Governor Kristi Noem signed Executive Order 2023-08, which declared a disaster in the counties of Brown, Clark, Codington, Day, Faulk, Grant, Hand, Marshall, Potter, and Roberts, as well as the Lake Traverse Indian Reservation. A Presidential Disaster Declaration then allowed the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to help South Dakota local governments in the impacted counties.

Edmunds and Spink counties incurred damages from severe spring flooding but did not qualify for FEMA relief. However, the two counties do qualify to receive disaster relief funds from the FHWA.