Governor orders closure of 52 state offices in blizzard warning

PIERRE, S.D. (Press Release) – Gov. Kristi Noem has ordered the closure of state government offices today in all 52 counties that are part of the current blizzard warning.

Counties part of the closure order are: Aurora, Beadle, Bennett, Bon Homme, Brookings, Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Charles Mix, Clark, Codington, Custer, Davison, Day, Deuel, Dewey, Douglas, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Gregory, Haakon, Hamlin, Hand, Hanson, Hughes, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jackson, Jerauld, Jones, Kingsbury, Lake, Lyman, Marshall, McCook, Meade, Mellette, Miner, Moody, Oglala Lakota, Pennington, Potter, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, Stanley, Sully, Todd, Tripp, Turner and Walworth.

Only essential personnel within state offices in the 52 counties should report to their work stations after the closure.

Heavy snow and high winds leading to blizzard conditions are expected in this storm. Driving conditions also will be adversely impacted. People are being urged to stay home and not travel unless absolutely necessary.

State officials are monitoring the storm closely and will determine if more state office closures are needed.