Harrisburg teacher named Teacher of Year

OACOMA, S.D. (KWAT) — Amanda Harris, a fourth-grade teacher at Endeavor Elementary in the Harrisburg School District, has been named the 2020 South Dakota Teacher of the Year. Secretary of Education Ben Jones made the announcement at a banquet in Oacoma.

Harris has taught in the Harrisburg School District since 2013. She has served on curriculum committees in her district and regularly presents at educator conferences. She has started several afterschool clubs at her school.

Harris will now represent South Dakota as a candidate for the National Teacher of the Year award.