Hettich to join Northern Electric Cooperative Board of Directors

BATH, S.D. (Press Release) – Northern Electric Cooperative members who live in District 2 will have a new representative on the Northern Electric Cooperative Board of Directors following the 72nd Annual Meeting. A total of three directors will be elected to the board during the 2019 Annual Meeting on Thursday, September 5. However, the District 2 seat is the only vacant seat because current Board of Directors Treasurer Wayne Holt has reached his term limit of serving three consecutive three-year terms.

Todd Hettich of Mina was the only candidate to submit a qualifying petition for the vacant seat. District 2 encompasses most of western Brown County and stretches into the Mina Lake area in Edmunds County. Hettich currently works for a major Information Technology company in the aerospace and defense industry providing applications and infrastructure services to his clients. Hettich is married to Christina Hettich and they have three boys who attend Ipswich High School. Since Hettich is the only qualifying candidate, he will be officially seated on the board at the September 5, 2019, annual meeting.

Incumbent candidates Donna Sharp of Bath, who represents District 5, and Nolan Wipf of Hitchcock, who represents District 9, are both unopposed and will be re-elected on September 5.
The 72nd Northern Electric Cooperative Annual Meeting will be held at the Aberdeen Civic Arena and Theatre. A free meal catered by Big Fella’s of Aberdeen will begin at 5:00 p.m. along with an energy expo and safety demonstrations. The business meeting will begin in the Aberdeen Civic Theatre starting at 6:30 p.m. All Northern Electric Cooperative members and their families are welcome to attend.

Northern Electric is a member-owned Touchstone Energy Cooperative serving Brown and Spink counties and portions of Marshall, Edmunds, Faulk, McPherson, Beadle, Clark, and Day counties.