Highway Patrol to have graduation ceremony Friday

PIERRE, S.D. (Press Release) – The latest class of South Dakota Highway Patrol troopers will have its formal graduation ceremony this Friday.

Class 62’s graduation ceremony begins at 10 a.m. Friday outside, in front of the state Capitol in Pierre. Gov. Kristi Noem is the scheduled guest speaker.

The 11-member class was scheduled to graduate April 9, but for safety reasons due to COVID-19, the ceremony was delayed. The troopers did receive their patrol vehicles and final equipment on that day. They have been working at their assigned duty stations since then.

“When the recruits came to Pierre to receive their vehicles and equipment in April, we promised them that we would have an actual graduation ceremony,” said Highway Patrol Superintendent Col. Rick Miller. “This is an important accomplishment and they deserve to be recognized publicly.”

Friday’s ceremony is limited to immediate family only. The ceremony will be livestreamed on the Highway Patrol’s Facebook page.

The graduates who are part of Class 62 and their duty stations are: Troy Archambeault, Faith; Patrick Barnes, Murdo; Colt Frerich, Wall; Dylan Herr, Huron; Taran Hunt, Rapid City; John Marnette, Redfield; Nathan Moore, Pierre; Paul Pelayo, Winner; Louis Plunkett, Rapid City; Samantha Pulse, Parkston; and, Cody Sellhorst, Philip.

South Dakota’s Highway Patrol is part of the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.