Highway Patrol trooper graduation postponed to April 18

PIERRE, S.D. (Press Release) – An expected late-winter storm has postponed this week’s South Dakota Highway Patrol trooper graduation.

The ceremony, which was scheduled for Friday, has been moved to 10 a.m., Thursday, April 18, in the state Capitol Rotunda. The guest speaker now will be South Dakota Supreme Court Chief Justice David Gilbertson.

“We know the nine recruits who make up Class 61 wanted to graduate this week and get started on their new careers,” says Craig Price, Cabinet Secretary of the state Department of Public Safety. “But this storm is expected to impact travel and we don’t want families of the recruits to not be able to get to Pierre for this important occasion.”

Graduating recruits and their duty stations are: Brandon Akron, Mobridge; Jordan Anderson, Presho; Jonathan Barthel, Milbank; Kellen Hood, Belle Fourche; David Koch, Aberdeen; James Linn, Sturgis; Jordan Moses, Pierre; Mason Ostenson, Belle Fourche; Blake Richters, Pierre.

The public is invited to attend the ceremony. At the end of graduation, the new troopers will receive their patrol cars which will be parked behind the state Capitol.

South Dakota’s Highway Patrol is part of the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.