Incumbents lead school board race; city council close with three precincts left

ABERDEEN, S.D. ( – Results are continuing to come in from today’s Primary Election.

Voter turnout was 26.2 percent with 6,008 out of a possible 22,915 voters casting ballots. There were 4,020 absentee ballots.

Here are the totals with nine of the 12 precincts reporting.

In the race for the Aberdeen School Board (three members will be elected): Kevin Burckhard has 2,528 votes, Brian Sharp has 2,392 votes, Aaron Schultz has 2,250 votes, and Randy Evans has 1,127 votes.

The totals for Aberdeen City Council SE Ward so far are: Dennis “Mike” Olson 307 votes, Tiffany Langer 299 votes, and David Welling 191 votes.

Meanwhile, Joe Biden, Mike Rounds and Dusty Johnson were all declared winners in their respective races.

Biden earned the nominee for Democratic President, Rounds defeated Scyller Borglum in the race for U.S. Senate, and Dusty Johnson defeated Liz Marty May in the race for U.S. Representative.

Stay tuned for more updates as they become available.