Langer wins city council position; incumbents top school board race

ABERDEEN, S.D. ( – Tiffany Langer has won a spot on the city council.

According to unofficial results from Tuesday’s primary election, Langer finished with 422 votes. Incumbent Dennis “Mike” Olson had 384, and David Welling had 345.

The three incumbents retained their spots on the Aberdeen School Board. Kevin Burckhard finished with   3,236 votes, Brian Sharp had 2,998, and Aaron Schultz had 2,850. Randy Evans finished with 1,510.

Voter turnout was 26.2 percent with 6,008 out of a possible 22,915 voters casting ballots. There were 4,020 absentee ballots.

Early in the evening, Joe Biden, Mike Rounds and Dusty Johnson were all declared winners in their respective races.

Biden earned the nominee for Democratic President, Rounds defeated Scyller Borglum in the race for U.S. Senate, and Dusty Johnson defeated Liz Marty May in the race for U.S. Representative.