Mental Health Services Delivery Task Force to meet

PIERRE, S.D. (Press Release) – The Mental Health Services Delivery Task Force, chaired by Representative Kevin Jensen (R-Canton), will hold its first meeting of the 2020 Interim on Tuesday, August 4, 2020, at 9 a.m. (CT). The meeting will be conducted via electronic conference with limited physical access in Room 414 of the State Capitol in Pierre, South Dakota. In
accordance with COVID-19 guidance, in-person attendees are encouraged to wear cloth face coverings and remain at least six feet apart.

The task force will discuss and take public testimony regarding the scope and direction of the assigned study and receive information regarding mental health services in the state. The meeting is open to the public and the agenda is available online.

The task force was created through the passage of House Concurrent Resolution 6004 by the 2020 Legislature.

In addition to Representative Jensen, task force members include Senator Wayne Steinhauer (R-Hartford), Vice Chair; Representatives Michael Diedrich (R-Rapid City), Linda Duba (D-Sioux Falls), Erin Healy (D-Sioux Falls), Jean Hunhoff (R-Yankton), Carl Perry (R-Aberdeen), and Tim Reed (R-Brookings); Senators Red Dawn Foster (D-Pine Ridge), Kyle Schoenfish(R-Scotland), and Jim Stalzer (R-Sioux Falls); and public members Steve Lindquist (Sioux Falls), Trisha T. Miller (Rapid City), and Jerry Rasmussen (North Sioux City).