Multiple Wolves Named All-NSIC [Soccer]

Burnsville, MN ( – The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference released today the 2023 Soccer All-Conference teams with seven Wolves honored by the league. First team honorees for Northern State include Megan Fastenau, Alexus Townsend, and Kelsey Selden. The second team list included Hannah Smith, Mia Zagorski, Zoe Boughton, and Calista Kocmick. The seven selections are the most for NSU in a single season.
Fastenau started all 18 games and leads the Wolves in 2023 with seven goals, three assists, and 17 points. The junior tallied 32 total shots and 18 shots-on-goal. In addition, she notched five game winning goals and a 56.3 shot on goal percentage. Fastenau leads the NSIC in game winning goals and ranks top-10 in goals scored and points. This is the third all-conference award of her career.
Townsend started all 18 games in goal for the Wolves with nearly 1600 minutes played. The junior racked up 73 saves with an 83.0 save percentage. She recorded nine wins and eight shutouts. Townsend sits top-5 in the league in goals against average and saves and top-10 in the NSIC in shutouts per game and saves per game. Her eight shutouts rank third all-time in the single season school records. This marks the second straight year Townsend earned all-conference honors.
Selden started all 18 games for NSU, playing a team leading 1,491 minutes. The senior sits second on the team with three goals. She tallied 17 shots, nine of which were on frame for a 52.9 shot on goal percentage. In addition, Selden recorded the game winning goal for the Wolves against Minot State. She caps off her senior season with the first all-conference honor of her career.
Smith started all 18 games for the Wolves and leads the team with 40 total shots. She added a team second best three goals and three assists. In addition, 24 shots were on frame with Smith holding a 60.0 shot on goal percentage. She ranks top-10 in the league in total shots and shots on goal this season. Smith was also a member of the NSIC All-Conference teams in 2022, marking this the second award of her career.
Zagorski started all 18 games this season, recording 1,280 minutes played. She led Northern State with four assists and added 13 shots and seven shots-on-goal. Zagorski is now a 2-time NSIC All-Conference second team honoree.
Boughton made 13 starts on the year for NSU, appearing in 1,070 minutes of action. She anchored the Northern State defense that sites top-5 in the NSIC in goals allowed. The all-conference honor is the first of Boughton’s career.
Kocmick started all 18 contests in 2023 as one of four Wolves to record three goals. She recorded a 63.6 shot on goal percentage, notching 7-of-11 shots on frame. Kocmick nabbed the first all-conference accolade of her career.
NSIC All-Conference Teams
#    First Team  Pos. Yr. School Hometown
8 Annika Bard M Sr. AUGIE Appleton, Wis.
22 Maggie Cade M 5th BSU Lakeville, Minn.
2 Halle Peterson D 5th BSU Stillwater, Minn.
21 Maria Stocke M Jr. BSU Andover, Minn.
20 Katie Anderson F Sr. CSP San Diego, Calif.
11 Tori Miller D Sr. CSP Bloomington, Minn.
13 Jackie Jares F Sr. UMD Muskego, Wis.
0 Mackenzie Rath GK 5th MSU Pierre, S.D.
8 Libby Spangler D 5th MSU Littleton, Colo.
5 Allie Williams F 5th MSU Waukee, Iowa
24 Megan Fastenau F Jr. NSU Aberdeen, S.D. 
16 Kelsey Selden M Sr.  NSU Prairie du Sac, Wis.
0 Alexus Townsend GK Jr. NSU Omaha, Neb.
2 Ellie Primerano F So. SCSU Saint Joseph, Mich.
8 Brooke Quam M So. SCSU Lakeville, Minn.
13 Ana Spaine D Fr. SCSU West Des Moines, Iowa
14 Rheana Zerna D Jr. SCSU St. Michael, Minn.
Second Team
97 Mackenzie Ternes D Sr. AUGIE Vadnais Heights, Minn.
13 Hope Korte M Sr. AUGIE Mendota Heights, Minn.
16 Connor Rylance D So. AUGIE Overland Park, Kan.
12 Katrina Barthelt F So. BSU Bartlett, Ill.
17 Lauren Hodny M Sr. BSU Moorhead, Minn.
26 Megan Ko D Fr. BSU Lake Oswego, Ore.
15 Corynn Grabau F Jr. CSP Andover, Minn.
8 Mo Malone D Jr. UMARY Placentia, Calif.
22 Eli Olsen D 5th UMARY Buffalo, Wyo.
24 Olivia Gardner F So. UMARY Winona, Minn.
19 Ava Vizenor M Jr. UMARY Big Lake, Minn.
22 Rachel Boelke D Sr. UMD Eden Prairie, Minn.
10 Jessica Eischens M Fr. UMD North Oaks, Minn.
30 Lauren Hansen D 5th UMD Grayslake, Ill.
27 Courtney Kovacs D So. MSU Ankeny, Iowa
13 Ashlyn Watt M Jr. MSU Adel, Iowa
19 Anna Van Wyngarden M So. MSU West Des Moines, Iowa
25 Avery Korsching F So. MSU Grimes, Iowa
1 Simone Lewald GK Sr. MSUM Leander, Texas
8 Sara Alfrida Munk Nielsen D Jr. MSUM Aarhus, Denmark
25 Rebecca Storr D So. MINOT Aarau, Switzerland
5 Sofia Galvez M R-Jr. MINOT Whittier, Calif.
10 Hannah Smith F R-So. NSU Essex, Great Britain
32 Mia Zagorski M Sr. NSU Lakeville, Minn.
19 Zoe Boughton D Jr. NSU Inver Grove Heights, Minn.
21 Calista Kocmick M Sr. NSU Brandon, S.D.
18 Sarah Miller F 5th USF Monument, Colo.
17 Brooke Wetterstrom M So. SMSU Olathe, Kan.
2 Haley Mason F So. SMSU Chippewa Falls, Wis.
0 Jaylee Strickland GK Fr. SCSU Columbus, Ohio
22 Linsey Trapino F Fr. SCSU Verona, Wis.
15 Gracie Parsons M R-Jr. SCSU Omaha, Neb.
17 Grace Olson M Fr. SCSU West Des Moines, Iowa
17 Paige Pemberton D/M So. WSC Lee’s Summit, Mo.
3 Morgan Rhodes M/D Sr. WSC Omaha, Neb.
7 Johanna Shubert F So. WSU Batavia, Ill.