Nine to graduate during Highway Patrol ceremony

PIERRE, S.D. (Press Release) – Nine new troopers will join the South Dakota Highway Patrol during a graduation ceremony Thursday, April 18, in the state Capitol Rotunda.

The ceremony was postponed from last Friday due to weather.

South Dakota Supreme Court Chief Justice David Gilbertson is the guest speaker. The ceremony, which is open to the public, starts at 10 a.m. CDT.

Those graduates who make up the Class 61 and their duty stations are: Brandon Akron, Mobridge; Jordan Anderson, Presho; Jonathan Barthel, Milbank; Kellen Hood, Belle Fourche; David Koch, Aberdeen; James Linn, Sturgis; Jordan Moses, Pierre; Mason Ostenson, Belle Fourche; Blake Richters, Pierre.

South Dakota’s Highway Patrol is part of the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.