Northern State faculty members receive awards

ABERDEEN, S.D. (Press Release) – Northern State University faculty members have been honored as the winners of the 2020-21 Nora Staael Evert and Sanford Faculty Development awards.

NSU Assistant Professor of Marketing Dr. Hannah Walters is the winner of the Nora Staael Evert Research Award, which provides a stipend to support a faculty member engaged in scholarly research. Walters won the award for her research project, “An Assessment of Emotional Intelligence in Ethical Decision Making.”

Northern also named four winners of Sanford Faculty Professional Development Awards:

  • Dr. Pamela Monaghan-Geernaert, assistant professor of sociology, “American Indian College Student Retention and Program Review”
  • Dr. Andrew Russell, assistant professor of biology, “Analysis of Zingerone as a Viable Additive to Contact Lens Solution”
  • Dr. Jon Schaff, professor of political science, “A More Perfect Union: Jefferson, Hamilton, and Lincoln and America’s Unfinished Work”
  • Dr. Bill Wieland, professor of piano and music theory “Adapt an Original Orchestral Composition for Symphonic Band”

Sanford Faculty Professional Development Awards provide funding to support faculty professional development in two areas: publications, research, and/or scholarly-creative activity; and external grants, funding, and/or resource procurement.

For more information about the university’s research and scholarship efforts, visit NSU Research and Scholarly Activities.