NSU WR Named A Semi-Finalist for William V. Campbell Trophy

Irving, TX (NSUWolves.com) – The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced today the semifinalists for the 2023 William V. Campbell Trophy®, college football’s premier scholar-athlete award. Northern State University transfer wide receiver, Bradyn Oakley, was named to the list all with 14 other NCAA Division II honorees.

Celebrating its 34th year, the Campbell Trophy® recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership.

A graduate transfer out of Davidson College, Oakley earns his second semifinalist nod for the award. Oakley tallied a 3.92 GPA at Davidson and was honored as a member of the NFF Honor Society in 2023. He is a multi-time all-academic and honor roll recipient. He has appeared in three contests for the Wolves with 95 receiving yards.
The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists on Oct. 25, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2023 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments. Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.
The Campbell Trophy® was first awarded in 1990. Named in honor of the late Bill Campbell, the trophy has been prominently displayed inside its official home at the New York Athletic Club since 2013, and the winner is honored each year during a special luncheon at the storied venue.