Peterson elected Majority Leader of Republican caucus

SALEM, S.D. (WNAX) – Representative Kent Peterson of Salem has been elected Majority Leader of the Republican caucus for the 2021 South Dakota legislative session.

He says he has had interest in leadership for several years.

There will be 62 Republicans members of the House in the session.

There have been some internal disagreements among Republicans during the past couple of sessions. Peterson says different opinions are fine, to a point.

Representative Spencer Gosch of Glenham will be Speaker for the next two terms. Representative Jon Hansen of Dell Rapids was named Speaker Pro-Tem.