President approves second disaster declaration for South Dakota

WASHINGTON, D.C. (WNAX) – President Donald Trump has approved a second disaster declaration for severe storms that impacted South Dakota in late May and early June. U.S. Senator Mike Rounds says the declaration will open the valves to federal money to repair storm damage.

Rounds says the status of two additional federal disaster declarations are still being determined.

Rounds says many people misunderstand the role of FEMA in a disaster.

Damage assessments documented around eight-million dollars in damage from the storms.  Twenty-five counties and two Indian Reservations are including in this latest declarations including Brule, Haakon, Jackson, Jones, Lyman, Mellette, Todd, Tripp and Ziebach Counties along with the Cheyenne River Reservation.