Recap of the Redistricting Committee meeting held on Tuesday

PIERRE, S.D.(KCCR)- The Redistricting Committee of the South Dakota legislature met Tuesday at the South Dakota State Capitol in Pierre.  District 24 Senator Mary Duvall of Pierre is chairing the once-in-a-decade function of reestablishing the state’s legislative boundaries.  She says the learning for the Committee continues.

The Committee also voted to set 35 legislative districts which is the current number of districts.  Duvall says new technology to help the Committee draw the new district boundaries is exciting.

Most of the public comment at the hearing centered on making sure Native American populations have input in the process.  Duvall says the Native American vote will be an area of focus for the Committee.

South Dakota’s resident total from the U-S Census Bureau is 886,667 people.  Final Census numbers are expected by August 16th.

The Redistricting committee will establish 3 subcommittees to set up the districts for Sioux Falls, Rapid City, and for the tribes.