SD Dept of Education announce teachers of the year for the five regions

PIERRE, S.D.(WNAX)- As part of teacher appreciation week, the South Dakota Department of Education has named teachers of the year in five regions.

The Region Three teacher of the year is Loretta Knodel who teaches third grade at the Avon School District. She said it was hard to keep the secret.

Knodel says she appreciates the support from the community and their school board.

Knodel has taught for twenty-three years, with the last twenty at Avon. She say the best part of teaching is not in school.


Other teachers of the year based on their region:

  • Region #1: Alyssa Cassels, 5-12 band instructor, Deuel School District
  • Region #2: Deb Jensen, kindergarten, Viborg-Hurley School District
  • Region #4: Jennifer Weishaar, first grade, Aberdeen School District
  • Region #5: Jennifer Macziewski, K-1 Primary, Rapid City Area Schools

One of the five regional winners will be named state teacher of the year early this summer.