SDFBCA Spring Football Clinic Info

The South Dakota Football Coaches Association is having the SDFBCA Spring Football Clinic at Dana J. Dykhouse Stadium in Brookings on March 23-24.  Speakers will include Jerry Kill (3-time National Coach of the Year) and FCA Speaker Gene Chizik (2010 SEC Coach of the Year), plus eight of the South Dakota Football Colleges and many high school coaches from the area states.

There is also a special FREE session for spouses & girlfriends on Sunday at will from 10:15a-1p in the Presidential Suite.  Kimberly Eck, wife of the SDSU O-Line Coach, will be presenting.

To get more information about the SDFBCA Spring Football clinic go to the SDFBCA website for online registration and the schedule of the clinic.  Awards will be presented on Saturday, March 23 at 7p in Club 71 in the Stadium.

Awards being presenting are…

Honoring the 2018 State Champion Coaches:

9B Ben Connot, Colome

9A James Strang, Canistota/Freeman

9AA Byron Pudwill, Bon Homme

11B Jake Pettengill, Sioux Falls Christian

11A Craig Clayberg, Tea Area

11AA Steve Steele, Pierre TF Riggs

11AAA Chad Garrow, Brandon Valley


NHSACA All Americans & Honorable Mention Americans…

All Americans:  Trey King, Irene-Wakonda (NSU recruit) and Tupak Kpeayeh, SF Washington

Honorable Mention Americans:  Jackson Kinzer, Colome; Tucker Kraft, Timber Lake; Mitchell Goodbary, SF Christian; Carter Slykhuis, Tea Area; and Jack Maher, Pierre TF Riggs


NHSACA’s Winner Circle Coach Winner…

Byron Pudwill, Bon Homme HS


25th Class of SDFBCA’s Hall of Fame inductees…

Steve Hansen, Dell Rapids; O.C. Heitman, Wakonda; Dan Mitchell, Yankton; and Brent Mutchelknaus, Irene-Wakonda.


2019 Assistant Coach of the Year Award winners…

9B Assistant Coach of the Year – Kyle Kooima, Castlewood

9A Assistant Coach of the Year – Ryan Gimbel, Timber Lake

9AA Assistant Coach of the Year – Thomas Konechne, Kimball/White Lake

11B Assistant Coach of the Year – Tim Hawkins, Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan

11A Assistant Coach of the Year – Craig Jorgensen, Dell Rapids

11AA Assistant Coach of the Year – Mike Carda, Huron

11AAA Assistant Coach of the Year – Ed Whiting, SF Roosevelt


Assistant Coach of the Year (8th Grade and Under) – Matt Aarstad, Bon Homme


The Assistant Coach of the Year awards will be presented at the All-Star Football Game on Saturday, June 8, at halftime of the game in Vermillion.