Sobriety checkpoints announced for July

PIERRE, S.D. (Press Release) – Sobriety checkpoints will be held in 19 South Dakota counties during July.

The checkpoints, held monthly in different counties, are designed to discourage people from drinking and then driving.  The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

July checkpoints are planned for the counties of: Brookings, Brown, Brule, Butte,  Charles Mix, Codington, Day, Hughes, Jerauld, Lincoln, Meade, Minnehaha, Moody, Pennington, Roberts, Spink, Stanley, Walworth  and Yankton.

Both the Office of Highway Safety and the Highway Patrol are part of the Department of Public Safety.