Sobriety checkpoints announced for June

PIERRE, S.D. (Press Release) – South Dakota’s Department of Public Safety has released its schedule of sobriety checkpoints to be conducted during June.

The June schedule calls for 28 checkpoints in 24 counties. The checkpoints, held monthly in different counties, are designed to discourage people from drinking and then driving. The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

Checkpoints are planned for June in the counties of: Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Butte, Day, Charles Mix, Clay, Codington, Custer, Davison, Day, Hamlin, Hughes, Lake, Lincoln, Meade, Minnehaha, Moody, Pennington, Roberts, Sanborn, Stanley, Walworth  and Yankton.

Both the Office of Highway Safety and the Highway Patrol are part of the Department of Public Safety.