Sobriety checkpoints announced for November

PIERRE, S.D. (Press Release) – State Department of Public Safety officials say sobriety checkpoints are planned in 18 counties statewide during November.


Checkpoints are done monthly in different counties as a way to discourage drivers from drinking and then driving.  The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.


November checkpoints are planned for the counties of: Aurora, Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Butte, Codington, Davison, Day, Hughes, Lake, Lincoln, Lyman, Meade, Minnehaha, Pennington, Stanley, Walworth and Yankton.


Both the Office of Highway Safety and the Highway Patrol are part of the Department of Public Safety.