Sobriety checkpoints announced for October

PIERRE, S.D. (Press Release) – Nineteen sobriety checkpoints in 13 different counties are planned for October, according to the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.

Checkpoints are done monthly in different counties as a way to discourage drivers from drinking and then driving.  The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

October checkpoints are planned for the counties of: Brookings, Brown, Brule, Clay, Codington, Davison, Day, Jerauld, Lake, Lawrence, Meade, Minnehaha and Pennington.

Both the Office of Highway Safety and the Highway Patrol are part of the Department of Public Safety.