Sobriety checkpoints planned statewide during April

PIERRE, S.D. – April’s list of statewide sobriety checkpoints has been announced by the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.

The monthly checkpoints are designed to encourage people not to drink and then drive. The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

Officials have scheduled 21 checkpoints in 16 different counties. Checkpoints are planned for the counties of: Bennett, Brown, Butte, Charles Mix, Codington, Davison, Hughes, Jerauld, Lawrence, Lincoln, Meade, Minnehaha, Pennington, Roberts, Stanley, and Walworth.

Drivers are reminded not to drink and drive regardless of whether there is a checkpoint planned in their county. People who have been drinking are urged to designate a sober driver or take an alternate form of commercial or public transportation.

Both the Office of Highway Safety and the Highway Patrol are agencies of the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.