Sobriety checkpoints released for December

PIERRE, S.D. (Press Release) – South Dakota’s Department of Public Safety has released the list of counties where sobriety checkpoints are planned to be held during December.


Monthly checkpoints are designed to discourage drivers from drinking and then driving. The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.


Officials plan to hold 21 checkpoints in 16 different counties. The counties are: Beadle, Brown, Brule, Codington, Custer, Hutchinson, Jackson, Lake, Lawrence, Lincoln, Minnehaha, Meade, Pennington, Roberts, Stanley and Yankton.


Both the Office of Highway Safety and the Highway Patrol are part of the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.