South Dakota attorney general impeached over fatal crash

PIERRE, S.D.(WNAX)- The South Dakota House began the process this morning of possibly impeaching Attorney General Jason Ravnsborg.

Representative Will Mortenson of Pierre introduced the articles of impeachment.

Mortenson says Ravnsborg did not do the honorable thing.

Mortenson says Representatives have to make the tough judgment.

During debate of the Articles of Impeachment, Representative Nancy York of Watertown said everyone has to be treated equally.

York says she believe law enforcement has lost confidence in the Attorney General.

Representative Oren Lesmeister of Parade says the Attorney General is clearly responsible for hitting and killing Joe Boever.

The South Dakota House voted 36 to 31 with 3 excused to impeach Attorney General Jason Ravnsborg.

Here’s how members of our regions voted:

District 1:

Representatives Tamara St. John & Jennifer Healy-Keints voted to impeach.

District 2:

Representatives Lana Greenfield & Kaleb Weis voted not to impeach.

Weis texted “I believe the standing committee did an excellent job reviewing the evidence and I stand behind the majority report.”

District 3:

Representative Drew Dennert & Carl Perry voted not to impeach.

District 23:

Speaker of the House Spencer Gosch voted not to impeach.

Representative Charlie Hoffman voted to impeach.

Governor Noem tweeted the following statement:

Today, the House of Representatives did the right thing for the people of South Dakota and for Joe Boever’s family.