Stahl elected as Corn Growers President

BRIDGEWATER, S.D. (WNAX) – South Dakota Corn Growers Association members at this week’s annual meeting elected Scott Stahl, a Bridgewater area farmer to serve as President starting Jan. 1 of 2021. He succeeds Doug Noem who was term limited. Stahl says he wants to continue building demand and market access for corn.

He says with President Elect Joe Biden nominating Tom Vilsack as U.S. Ag Secretary is good for corn growers as Vilsack has experience having served in that job during the Obama administration.

Stahl says he’s encouraged with how trade is going with China through the Phase one deal.

Serving with Stahl on the Corn Grower’s leadership team is Travis Strasser of Wilmot as Vice President, and Dave Ellens of Madison as Secretary-Treasurer. Gary Duffy of Oldham was re-elected as a board member at large with additional new board members including Travis Mockler of Centerville and Austin Hillestad of Volga.