Stratford couple among Rural Dakota Pride Award winners

HURON, S.D. (Press Release) – South Dakota Farmers Union recognizes South Dakotans who give back to their rural communities with the 2020 Rural Dakota Pride Award.

The 2020 Rural Dakota Pride honorees include Connie and Allen Hoeft, Stratford; Holly Bauer, Whitewood; Sharon Peterson, De Smet; Jenny Wilk, Huron; and Joyce Heath, Winner.

“Without citizens willing to volunteer their time, our rural communities cannot survive. Our organization thanks all who give of their time and talents to support South Dakota’s rural communities,” says Karla Hofhenke, S.D. Farmers Union Executive Director.

As a grassroots organization which serves South Dakota’s family farmers and ranchers, Doug Sombke, SDFU President, says Farmers Union recognizes the important role strong rural communities play in supporting agriculture producers and their families.

“South Dakota’s agriculture producers and their communities are closely connected. In good economic times they both prosper. When the economy is down, like today with the trade war, low commodity prices and extreme weather conditions, they both feel the pain,” Sombke says. “The Rural Dakota Pride honor is one of many ways SDFU works to show our support for both.”

To learn more about how S.D. Farmers Union supports rural South Dakota’s family farmers and ranchers and their rural communities,