Sundance Wicks Named Joe B. Hall National COTY

PHOENIX, AZ (Press Release) – Green Bay’s Sundance Wicks is the recipient of the 2024 Joe B. Hall National
Coach of the Year award, which is presented annually to the top rookie, first-year head coach
in division I college basketball.

Wicks injected energy into a downtrodden program, orchestrating an improvement of 15 wins
from the previous season. Green Bay finished 18-14 overall and 13-7 in the Horizon League,
tying for third in the regular season.

Wicks, 43, made seven coaching stops before landing in Green Bay and in his first season all of
his experience helped the Phoenix improve more than 100 spots in adjusted offensive
efficiency and adjusted defensive efficiency, per, upgrading their overall rating
from 361st to 230th.

“Sundance Hicks delivered in his first year in Green Bay,” said James Wilhelmi, Executive
member of and Senior Analyst. “He orchestrated one of the best turn
arounds in the history of the Horizon League. His unique approach and positive demeanor
carried over to his players and the overall community resulting in much bigger home crowds
and the Phoenix winning 500% more games than the year before. He is very deserving of the
Joe B. Hall National Coach of the Year award.”

The Joe B. Hall award is named in honor of longtime Kentucky head coach Joe B. Hall who was
given the task of following the legendary Adolph Rupp at the school. In his first season, Hall
finished 20-8, won the SEC and advanced to the NCAA Regional Finals.

Hall coached the Wildcats from 1972 to 1985. He won two-thirds of his games (297-100),
received four SEC Coach of the Year honors, and won a National Championship in 1978. He also
steered the program to two other Final Fours, won eight Southeastern Conference regular
season championships and one Southeastern Conference tournament championship (1984).
Coach Hall passed away on January 15, 2022.

The recipient of the annual award is determined by a 10-member voting committee, which
consists of current and former head coaches, as well as two senior staff members of

Adrian Autry Syracuse
Chad Boudreau Western Illinois
Chris Casey Fairfield
Aaron Fearne Charlotte
Ross Hodge North Texas
Bryan Hodgson Arkansas State
Alan Huss High Point
Matt Logie Montana State
Phil Martelli Jr. Bryant
Chris Mudge Sam Houston
Tevon Saddler Nicholls
Jim Shaw Texas A&M Corpus Christi
Duane Simpkins American
Tony Skinn George Mason
K.T. Turner UT Arlington