Tech schools preparing for name change

WATERTOWN, S.D. (KWAT) — A name change is on the radar for South Dakota’s four technical institutes.

Both houses of the South Dakota Legislature have passed a bill that will rename the institutes as colleges. The bill still requires the signature of Governor Noem.

The prime House sponsor of that bill is Representative Hugh Bartels of Watertown.

He says although the names of the schools will change, their missions will not.

Bartels says the change will take effect July 1. South Dakota’s four technical institutes are located in Watertown, Mitchell, Sioux Falls and Rapid City.